Nature History Culture Cuisine
Explore Japan’s Rich Heritage in Tohoku’s Six Prefectures and Niigata

Located in the northeastern part of Japan’s Honshu island, Tohoku is surrounded by the Sea of Japan, the Pacific Ocean and the Tsugaru Strait. Consisting of six prefectures — Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata and Fukushima —. Despite progressive changes over the past centuries in Japan, Tohoku has retained a uniquely authentic feel by well preserving its traditional way of life and culture. With a history that can be traced back to the 7th century, Tohoku is truly a hidden gem for those who appreciate a relaxed holiday in a pure and bucolic environment. Each attraction has a story to tell and every dish features a history to please the palate and the soul.

Picturesque Tohoku: Spring

Picturesque Tohoku: Summer

Nebuta Matsuri
Aomori City , Aomori Prefecture
Highlight: fireworks festival on the final day
Aug. 2 – 7

Kanto Matsuri
Akita City, Akita Prefecture
Highlight: see participants balance 50kg lantern poles
Aug. 3- 6

Tanabata Matsuri
Sendai City, Miyagi Prefecture
Highlight: beautiful streamers in the shopping arcades and fireworks on Aug. 5
Aug. 6 – 8

Hanagasa Matsuri
Yamagata City, Yamagata prefecture
Highlight: different types of dances using straw flower hats
Aug. 5 – 7

Sansa Matsuri
Morioka, Iwate Prefecture
Aug.1 – 4

Waraji Matsuri
Fukushima City, Fukushima Prefecture
Aug. 3 – 6

Tohoku Summer Guide

Japanese Heritage

Tohoku Cuisine

Local dishes you’ve never had before!


Today, restaurant chains are so popular that there seems to be no diversity in the food and experience wherever you go. But this is not true in Tohoku, where food is reflective of local weather conditions and the region’s rich cultural heritage. Prepared to be greeted with an array of unique dishes that you have never heard of nor seen before. Time to challenge your taste buds!

Other Tohoku articles

Visit our Tohoku Special Winter edition here.